Great Steak, Evil Birds

Normally I don’t write posts about the restaurants here, because we don’t eat out that often and when we do I’m not sure if its something people are really clamoring to read about. But I’m making an exception this time because I took some awesome pictures of birds and I want to show them off. Just keepin’ it real here.

Ristorante Pappagallo Grand Cayman

Papagallos is the northernmost restaurant in West Bay. We were looking for a place on the ocean and after glancing at a photo I made reservations, only to realize when looking at a map that the body of water it sits on is actually a lagoon, not the sea. But water is water and as we walked up we were impressed with the scenery… definitely did not feel like we were in Cayman anymore! It was the perfect place for a special dinner for my dad’s last night in Cayman before returning to the real world.

Ristorante Pappagallo Grand Cayman

It was pretty empty inside, which I attribute to it being the low season and a Sunday, since the food was excellent and the service warm and friendly. The big selling point for me though was the room which was surrounded by different cages each with exotic birds in them. I love restaurants and I love zoos. So what could be a better combo?! While we waited for the food I walked around outside and played with trying to get some cool photos and I love the dark and sinister outcome.

Ristorante Pappagallo Grand Cayman

As always, click to enlarge

Ristorante Pappagallo Grand Cayman

Conclusion: If you are in Cayman and you’re looking for a place a bit off the regular restaurant scene here I recommend you give this place a try. If you were terrorized by Hitchcock’s The Birds as a child, I recommend you stay home.

Ristorante Pappagallo Grand Cayman

This one is Humphry Bogart

Ristorante Pappagallo Grand Cayman

He is a friendly one

Side Note: Do you guys think its weird to take pictures of food? I’m split on this issue. I can see Mark look a little flustered when I break out the Canon to take some pictures of my bacon wrapped steak, but I don’t know, sometimes I have this burning, inexplicable desire to document my meal with photos. Why is this? It’s not like I look back at these photos and reminisce about the great cut of meat, or use it to make a creepy food diary. I guess maybe I just like to embarrass my boyfriend. Anyway, I’m putting one to good use, right here right now. For your viewing pleasure, my dinner:

Ristorante Pappagallo Grand Cayman

Mmmmmm

Leave a Reply

